Texas Relays - Bowerman winner --- Julien Alfred of Texas sets meet record in women's 60m final at Big 12 Championships
Julien Alfred

The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, has a storied history of celebrating the most outstanding athletes in the sport. As we approach the 2023 The Bowerman Presentation (14 Dec), let’s take a look back at the winners who have left an indelible mark on the world of collegiate athletics.

The legacy began in 2009 with Jenny Barringer from Colorado and Galen Rupp from Oregon, setting a high bar for future recipients. In the years that followed, stars such as Ashton Eaton from Oregon (2010), Ngoni Makusha from Florida State (2011), and Kimberlyn Duncan from LSU (2012) continued to exemplify the award’s prestige.

Bowerman winner --- Christian Coleman wins US Trials - Seiko Golden Grand Prix - for New York Grand Prix
Christian Coleman

As the years progressed, the list of honorees expanded with remarkable athletes. Christian Coleman from Tennessee and Raevyn Rogers from Oregon, both in 2017, demonstrated the depth of talent in collegiate track and field. In 2019, Grant Holloway from Florida further solidified the award’s reputation for recognizing exceptional performances.

Fast forward to 2023, and the tradition of excellence continues with this year’s finalists. On the men’s side, Kyle Garland of Georgia, Jaydon Hibbert of Arkansas, and Leo Neugebauer of Texas have made their mark. Garland, Hibbert, and Neugebauer have collectively won four NCAA titles, broken four collegiate records, and notched ten all-time top-10 performances.

Bowerman winner --- 
 Britton Wilson
Britton Wilson

The women’s finalists are equally impressive. Julien Alfred of Texas, Jasmine Moore of Florida, and Britton Wilson of Arkansas have dominated the track, combining for ten NCAA titles, contributing to 12 collegiate records, and achieving 33 top-10 all-time performances.

Collegiate track & field’s biggest night is just around the corner. On Thursday (14 Dec), we will witness the continuation of this rich legacy as the 2023 winners of The Bowerman are announced. Each year, The Bowerman Presentation grows more significant, and this year promises to be no exception. The event not only honors the current year’s finest athletes but also celebrates the enduring excellence of past winners, all of whom have contributed to the rich tapestry of collegiate track and field history.

Bowerman Winners Down The Years

YearMale AthletesSchoolFemale AthletesSchool
2022Trey CunninghamFlorida StateAbby SteinerKentucky
2021JuVaughn HarrisonLSUAthing MuTexas A&M
2019Grant HollowayFloridaSha’Carri RichardsonLSU
2018Michael NormanSouthern CaliforniaKeturah OrjiGeorgia
2017Christian ColemanTennesseeRaevyn RogersOregon
2016Jarrion LawsonArkansasCourtney OkoloTexas
2015Marquis DendyFloridaJenna PrandiniOregon
2014Deon LendoreTexas A&MLaura RoeslerOregon
2013Derek DrouinIndianaBrianna RollinsClemson
2012Cam LevinsSouthern UtahKimberlyn DuncanLSU
2011Ngoni MakushaFlorida StateJessica BeardTexas A&M
2010Ashton EatonOregonQueen HarrisonVirginia Tech
2009Galen RuppOregonJenny BarringerColorado


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here