Romario Williams and Tissana Hickling are male and female InterCol 2018 100m champions.

Both athletes from GC Foster College won their respective titles on Friday’s (6 March) opening day of the two-day NCB Intercollegiate Track and Field Championships at the National Stadium.

Williams dominated the men’s 100m final, ran in a -1.7m/s wind, by crossing the line in 10.27seconds. He finished comfortable ahead of Dushawn Mighty of Caribbean Maritime University (CMU), 10.50 and Javoy Tucker of UTech, 10.51.

Hickling won her event in 11.65 seconds, beating UTech’s Shimarya Williams, 11.73 and Mico’s Tiffany Higgins, 12.02.

In the women’s long jump, Hickling leapt 6.44m on her second attempt to break the old mark of 6.42m, but shortly after things changed again. UTech’s Jessica Noble, also on her second attempt, registered a personal best of 6.61 metres, which gave her gold and the new record.

Oshane Archibald of GC Foster College was the day’s other record breaker.

Archibald ran 9:21.45 to erase his own 2017 mark of 9:32.02 in the men’s 3000m steeplechase.

Garfield Gordon, also of GC Foster College, 9:29.20 and UTech’s Shane Buchanan, 9:29.96 were second and third respectively.

GC Foster College lead both male and female sections.

The male team leads with 72 points after five finals ahead of UTech 48, UWI 37, CMU 7 and Excelsior Community College 7.

On the female side, GC Foster are on 56 points, 20 more than UTech 36, UWI 22 and Mico 20.


By Anthony Foster

Is a two-time Jamaica sports journalist of the year (2004 and 2005) and world-renowned journalist. One of his award-winning articles was on Usain Bolt, 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion and sprint double record holder, was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony has covered Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016; Six (6) IAAF World Athletics Championships between 2007 and 2019 and several other international sporting events, including the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his favourite football team, Argentina vs the USA in 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *