Dsc 4442

Naggo Head held on to their slim lead at the end of the third and penultimate day of the 38th INSPORTS Primary Champs at the National Stadium.

After six finals scored, the defending champions picked up valuable points in the girls’ long jump Open. Twenty-three teams have already scored points with Naggo Head on 27 points, but are closely tracked by Lyssons (25), Harbour View (23) and St John’s (22).

St John’s Jemarie Thomas highlighted day 2 with a new record in the cricket ball throw

However, the highlight of the day came from Jemarie Thomas of St John’s Primary who is the new record holder in boys’ cricket ball throw.

Jemarie Thomas wins cricket ball throw at Primary Champs
Jemarie Thomas of St John’s Primary is the new record holder of the boys’ cricket ball throw after throwing 64.40m to win gold on day three of the 38th INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships at the National Stadium on Friday, May 11, 2018.

On his final attempt, Thomas threw 64.40m to smash the 2015 record of 62.80m set by Elton Hyatt. Kwesi Reece of George Headley also came close to the old mark with an impressive 60.06m, while St Benedict’s Leon Rhone registered 58.29m for bronze.

Terrrica Francis won gold in the girls’ long jump Open with a mark of 4.80m to give St. Francis their first medal and points. Kayla Haughton of Rousseau took silver with 4.73m, while Naggo Head’s Kristian Watson’s 4.49m secured the bronze.

Tavian Wilson of Morant Bay redeemed himself after a disappointing display in the long jump to edge the boys’ high jump Open in a very tight battle in which seven athletes cleared the winning height of 1.45m. Belmont Park’s Dominic Henry was second, while Adrian Reid of Clan Carthy was third.

Also today, the championship was officially declared open by State Minister in the Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport Alando Terrelonge during a 30-minute opening ceremony, attended by director of safety and security in schools in the Ministry of Education Coleridge Minto; Dr Warren Blake, president of the Jamaica Administrative Athletics Association and Institute of Sports Board Director Allan Beckford.

Thirty-five finals will be contested on Saturday’s final day after the organizers rescheduled the Order of Events.

Combined points standing after day 3 of Primary Champs

  1. Naggo Head 27
  2. Lyssons 25
  3. Harbour View 23
  4. St John’s 22
  5. Rousseau 18
  6. Portsmouth 18
  7. Port Morant 15
  8. St Francis 9
  9. George Headley 7
  10. Belmont Park 7
  11. St Benedict’s 6
  12. Mineral Heights 6
  13. Clan Carthy 6

By Anthony Foster

Is a two-time Jamaica sports journalist of the year (2004 and 2005) and world-renowned journalist. One of his award-winning articles was on Usain Bolt, 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion and sprint double record holder, was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony has covered Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016; Six (6) IAAF World Athletics Championships between 2007 and 2019 and several other international sporting events, including the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his favourite football team, Argentina vs the USA in 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *