Frdrick Dacres and Janieve Russell are favourites for this year’s Sportsman and Sportswoman crowns.

Dacres won multiple titles and finished the year as the world number one discus thrower in 2018. Dacres began the year by winning the Commonwealth Games title, later adding the NACAC accolade before beating the world to claim the Diamond League and Continental crowns.

Dacres is also NACAC’s Male Athlete of the Year.

Russell won the Commonwealth Games and Continental Cup 400m hurdles titles in 2018. She was also a silver medal winner at the NACAC Senior Championships in the year.

Three other track and field female athletes, Commonwealth Games triple jumper winner Kimberly Williams, NACAC triple jump champion Shanieka Ricketts and Danniel Thomas-Dodd, the Commonwealth Games shot put gold medallist, are also nominated.

Commonwealth Games 110m hurdles champion Ronald Levy and O’Dayne Richards are the only other track and field male athletes in the line-up.

National Sportswoman of the Year Nominees:

Alia Atkinson
Aisha Praught-Leer
Shanieka Ricketts
Kimberly Williams
Janieve Russell
Khadija Shaw
Danniel Thomas-Dodd
Stafanie Taylor

National Sportsman of the Year Nominees:

Chris Binnie
Fedrick Dacres
O’Dayne Richards
Ronald Levy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here