Charokee Young wins bronze at 2020 SEC Indoor Championships - SEC Championships
Charokee Young, Deborah Acquah and Jon Bishop finished day two of the meet earning, all-conference honours in their respective events.

Jamaicans Charokee Young and Phillip Lemonious are the fastest in their respective events at the SEC Championships at Bryan-College Station, Texas, on Friday (25).

Young, representing Texas A&M, recorded the day’s fastest 400m time, 51.54, to move into the final as the favourite.
Stephanie Davis of South Carolina ran 51.68, and Alexis Holmes of Kentucky, 51.89, completed the top two qualifiers.

Phillip Lemonious of Arkansas ran the fastest qualifying time of 7.68secs in the men’s 60m hurdles. Eric Edwards Jr. of LSU is the next best with 7.76 and Kurt Powdar, third with 7.85.

Antigua and Barbuda’s Joella Lloyd qualified for the women’s 60m final with 7.22. Abby Steiner of Kentucky leads the field with 7.17secs ahead of Jada Baylark of Arkansas, 7.21.

In the men’s 60m, Matthew Boling is the fastest going into the final with 6.59 ahead of Dedrick Vanover of Florida, 6.63.

How to watch SEC Championships Live Stream

Jamaican Chevannie Hanson ran 46.32 to book his place in the men’s 400m final. Champion Allison of Florida leads the qualifiers with 45.57.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines’ Shafiqua Maloney, representing Arkansas, ran 2:04.99 qualified for the women’s 800m final. Katy-Ann McDonald of LSU leads the field with 2:04.02.

Two Jamaicans, Rosealee Cooper of Mississippi State, 8.08 and Daszay Freeman of Arkansas, 8.15, are into the women’s 60m hurdles final. The event leader is Grace Stark of Florida, 7.91.

Arkansas’ Joanne Reid qualified women’s 200m final. She ran the seventh fastest time of 23.25. Abby Steiner of Kentucky leads the field with 22.44 ahead of Favour Ofili of LSU, 22.61.

Cameron Miller of Florida is the fastest male 200m runner in 20.59.

In the DMR, Ole Miss topped the male and female finals. They won the men’s event in 9:30.32 ahead of Arkansas 9:31.57.
They took the women’s event in 10:56.39 ahead of Arkansas 10:57.26.

Stay on track with the latest track and field happenings by following on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @trackalerts and YouTube 
trackalertsTV. Please send us a message on WhatsApp at 631-609-9166 or email us at [email protected].

Previous articleJamaicans Bring the Heat at Big 12 Championships
Next articleGibson McCook Relays 2022 | Results
Anthony Foster
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here