MOUNTAIN VIEW, USA – World record holder and Olympic winner at 400m Wayde van Niekerk is the Track and Field News Male athlete of the Year 2016.

The 24-year-old South African received 28 of 32 votes for No. 1, the others going to Eliud Kipchoge (2) and Mo Farah & Usain Bolt (1 each).

In the long history of TFN AOY voting, van Niekerk becomes the first 400-only World Ranker to win. He is also first South African to win this title. Second Mo Farah and third Usain Bolt.

Fourth place for Eliud Kipchoge ahead of Ashton Eaton, Conseslus Kipruto and Christian Taylor. In the 8th position Ryan Crouser with Omar McLeod and David Rudisha completing the top ten.


By Alfonz Juck (eme news)

EME NEWS is news service relating to the sport of athletics. It is published on daily basis with additional updates, as required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *